“Keep Sewing”

Yesterday I went to Patong to teach English. I had 3 students come in total. One of the students I have been teaching for a little over 6 months now. I finally had a moment of some ‘tough love’.

I was very clear and to the point in asking where she was out and if she really was serious about coming out of the bars. She said, she was. And then I asked what she was waiting for, that we have positions open at SHE and you can come and ‘interview’ tomorrow. After thinking some, she said she would like that.

Another student I used to teach works with her. She came from a hotel job to work in the bars. Initially I was wondering if we could even help her, for that is the profession we are trying to get these women into. After some prayer, we felt that keeping the relationship was worth it. She only came to 4 lessons, but we were able to still keep the relationship going.

As the conversation continues, she asks how many positions were available because her roommate HATES her job and wants out too. I said we have room for both of them to join us and they should both come an interview if that is what they want.

I left shortly to go and get some water and I come back to overhear this student share to another that she will come and work with Liz.

Today:

At 10am (super early for a bar girl to be awake!), I get a text from my student that she and her roommate will come today to interview at 3pm.

It is really happening! I am so overwhelmed with joy. 6 months of patience, hard work and love is showing fruitful. I praise God for the work He is doing in and through me and this ministry. It is a theme I have been learning here,  When you do not see fruit, keep sewing.” I am called here to sew love into the lives of these women and I will keep ‘sewing’ even when there is no ‘fruit from my labor’ because that is what the Lord has called me here for.

Please be in prayer for these women. Pray that they would choose to come out of their current job and have enough courage to do so. May they know that they are worth fighting for. May the interview go well this afternoon and may it just work out. May it be an easy transition and a joyful one.

I said, ‘Plant the good seeds of righteousness,
and you will harvest a crop of love.
Plow up the hard ground of your hearts,
for now is the time to seek the Lord,
that he may come
and shower righteousness upon you.’

Hosea 10:12

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Keep Sewing”

  1. jacci says:

    Great work Liz. Praying they will follow through!

  2. Michelle says:

    This is crazy excellent! So amazing. Thank you for your obedience, faith and example you set for everyone that you come in contact with. It’s sooo good!

Leave a Reply

