Last Sunday

It is Sunday morning. I get out of bed at 8am and I begin to get dressed in my ‘Sunday Best’-yes it was a dress. I am out of the door at 8:30am to catch the local bus. The bus finally comes and I get on at 9am. I am sitting on the bus, studying my Thai Flashcards and the man next to me begins to ask me some questions. He is a Thai man from Bangkok who is here on vacation (mostly due to the flooding). We had a great conversation. Towards the last 10 minutes of our journey, we began to talk about what I do here in Phuket and where I was going (to church). He asked some really great questions, and I was able to share a mini version of the Gospel right there on the bus.

Then I get off the bus and begin to walk to church, another 10 minute walk away. To walk to church, I have to walk down Bangla Road. This is where the selling of women is located. Every Sunday, it gives me an opportunity to prayer walk over this street.

I finally get to church, and they are deep in prayer. It was beautiful. As I take my shoes off, I begin to find my seat and join them in prayer. We prayed for the Kingdom of Thailand, the people, the flooding and for Bangla Road. It was beautiful to see Thai people praying for Thai people.

Then they began with some announcements, and they were longer than usual, so I begin to wonder what is all being said. I was able to figure out bits ad pieces, but soon more later that day.

We worshiped in Thai and heard a great message. Then I was told that 3 of the women in the church were going to be baptized that day! It was suppose to be in 3 more weeks, but as one of the ladies was pregnant and her water just broke, they felt it urgent to do it that day!

Right after the sermon, we went to the pool and baptized 3 beautiful women of the Lord. It was a great afternoon.


Then we rushed back inside as it began to rain cats and dogs!

After singing praises and eating a meal together, we all piled into cars and went 45 minutes away to another church, where Thai Bible Jeopardy between the churches of Phuket took place and games. It was crazy and fun.

Here I was able to connect with a few church planters and it was really good and encouraging.

I finally made it home at 5:30pm.

Baptism Smiles

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Sunday

  1. Michelle says:

    What a beautiful day. Always proud. Thank you for giving generously. God is using you in amazing ways! Let’s think about a skype date?!?!

  2. Alex Reiley says:

    Great story Liz. Thank you so much for writing about your day and your experiences. I love reading them.

Leave a Reply

