Last Thursday

I wanted to share a little about last Thursday. Every Thursday morning I make, print and collect lessons plans I think I will need for the afternoon of teaching English. The previous class, I had 2 new students come without warning, so I made do with what I had with me.  This meant I had 2 more students to prepare for in addition to my constant 4 students.

I left for the bus right at 1pm and arrived in Patong at 1:40pm. I had about 10 minutes to kill, so I walked around in the air conditioned room (a BIG deal here). It was when I was wandering around that I saw one of my students. Initially, I got excited. I thought that she had returned and that she was getting ready to come to class with me. I would soon find that not to be the case.

The first words I hear (in Thai) “I cannot come today” and points to the man next to her saying that was the reason why. She had been sold for 3 days.  My heart sank.

The man soon begins to wonder how this white girl knows this Thai girl. My friend wanted me to share with him that I was her teacher, so I said that I was her Teacher. He then begins to share a lot of information to me and somewhat demands me to share/translate it to my Thai friend. I did not know what to do. That was the last thing I really wanted to be doing. I did share some of what he asked me to share, but I was able to talk with her and see how she was really doing (in Thai). She said her heart was said and that she was not happy but ok. She also said she needed the money so there really is no other choice….ugh…

I want her, and the rest of my students, to know that they have a choice. That is why I am here after all. Though English is taught in English Class, it is not the main focus. Relationships and making sure these women know that they have a choice to get out of their current profession is the main goal. It serves as an outreach program.

I know my ‘work’ here is not easy, and I am daily reminded of it. To hear of women who now believe they are worthless, want to take their life and give up it is hard. To see women I’ve known for months with a customer is heartbreaking. What’s worse is to hear and see women beaten by their customers. I truly love these women and the opportunity I get to speak into their life.  I am called to love and that is just what I will continue to do, no matter how dark or hard things will get; for I know that love conquers all.

Prayer Requests:

Pray for my Thai Students. May they know that English Class is a safe place, that they have a choice and that we are here to help them transition out of their current job to something better.

Pray for wisdom as I ‘teach’ these women. Most of what I ‘teach’ is building their character, confidence and self worth. Pray that I would have the right words in every hard situation that comes up.

On another note, pray for the flooding in Bangkok, Thailand to receded. Some areas still have 6-7feet of flood waters. Many other parts of Thailand rely on Bangkok for its resources, and now many of the shelves are going bare.

 

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Last Thursday

  1. Catherine says:

    Awesome blog lady! Keep up the great work!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Wow, I’m definitely praying. Keep loving them, Liz!

  3. Although sad to hear about these women…the fact that they trust you—-AMAZING! That they want to open up to you. Seems so much is relational. It makes sense. Little by little pookie….Jesus comes through us!!! Amazing

    • lizolson says:

      Thank you Tapa! Did you know there is a Tapa candy bar here, and although it doesn’t taste good, whenever I pass by it, it makes me think of you! Thank you for your encouragement and love! And this week it seems like after months of patiently loving 2 girls are possibly coming to work at SHE. Praise God. Pookie

Leave a Reply

