2 week summary

I know this is LONG overdue, so I will do my best to enlighten you since my last blog.

  1. The Vegetarian Festival is FINALLY over! Praise God. It was such an intense time. It was extremely spiritually dark, unlike anything I have ever felt before.  On my way to church on Sunday, I managed to get caught in the middle of one of their ‘parades’. I saw and witnessed things I really would not like to see again.  People would pray for demons to take over their bodies and it happened. They would pierce themselves with very sharp objects and do things I did not think was humanly possible.
  2. My BIRTDHAY! I had my 25th birthday on October 1st. It is cool to be able to say you had a birthday in Thailand! I went to Sizzlers for lunch and watched Cars 2 (in 3D). My parents were sweet and sent me my favorite yarn from the States. J
  3. English Class was down in numbers the last few weeks as one of the women I teach was sold for 2 weeks straight and was taken to Bangkok. She is now back and numbers are growing once again (she is a great at spreading the word for us!) But in that time, I was able to really get close with one of the students. She was able to open up to me on a very very deep level. It has been a blessing to be a blessing in her life. And just yesterday, one of my students shared that she loves English Class because it feels like home. It is awesome to think that this is my ‘job’.
  4. Thai Class has been interesting. Just the other day I found out that my Thai Teacher left the school I was with, so I am without a teacher currently. Bummer. So I am back to studying on my own until another one is found.
  5. Health-I managed to be sick more times in the last few weeks than well. With us living in such a close community, things cycle through the house quickly. Plus it doesn’t help that I have a depressed immune system. Please be praying for our health her at SHE.
  6. One of our Thai staff members has left and it has been really hard on our SHE Family. We have become so close that we really do feel like a family. Please be in prayer for her (I cannot go into details).

So that is the latest! It has just been CRAZY here. 

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2 week summary

  1. Catherine says:

    Liz, it’s great to hear what God is doing thru you at SHE. Keep pressing into Him as you continue to pour our – girl you are rocking it!🙂 Love you!

  2. george spaulding says:

    Hi, liz-happy (belated) birthday)! thanks for sharing what God is doing with SHE. praying for you!

  3. Alexandria Reiley says:

    Happy belated Birthday!! Yours in only 2 days different from my sons so it will be easy to remember. I was happy to receive your blog this morning. I was praying in general terms lately as I wasn’t sure how things were going. Heart wrenching to hear about the festival and what you had to witness and of your health. You are on my thoughts often. God is doing a good work in you. Stay strong and thanks for making a difference.

    • lizolson says:

      Thank you so much. It is so nice to know I am being thought about and supported from half way around the world! You are such an encouragement to me. Thank you for being a blessing to me! Liz

Leave a Reply

