How am I to respond?

Imagine someone you know, love and care deeply about.

Do you have your person in mind?

It may be your wife, your only child, your significant other or even just a close friend.

Now imagine you hear news that they are being abused. Everyday when they return home, they are beaten by someone close to them. They come back the next day, not the same. The bubbly, smiley person you knew is no longer there. Instead, there is fear, same, sadness and hurt. To make matters worse, they begin to share with you what happened those nights. As you get more and more details, your heart beaks for the person you love. You think, “How could this happen to such a beautiful person? How can I help? How am I to respond? …..” How am I to respond? Seriously?!? How am I to respond in a godly manner, when I just heard that 2 of my close Thai friends have been brutally abused physically and emotionally? How am I to respond, when I see every bruise on their beautiful bodies? How am I to respond when I hear their children are also being abused? How am I to respond…..

On August 15, 2011, this is what was happening to me. Two of the SHE staff members were forced to leave because of domestic violence in their homes. They were no longer safe to be here, and were forced to leave for their own safety.

I was crushed. In only 4 short months, they had become family. And I realized how close we had become, when the realization hit that they were no longer going to be around.

These girls are my family; and the “How am I to respond” questions above were racing through my head while every emotion was racing through my heart.  I will confess that my heart was angry towards those men. To hear of men abusing women and children, really struck a chord in me. Yet, I was also full of sadness and my main goal was to love through the circumstances. Love the Thai ladies, and provide for them what they needed in that moment…comfort, love and hope.

How would you respond? How will you respond? Domestic violence is not just something that occurs in Thailand, it occurs all around the world and in your backyard.  For more information on domestic violence, you can click here:  http://www.domesticviolence.org/

I am pleased to report that the Thai staff was able to return a month later. I do not know all of the details as of yet, but they are back here. Please be praying for their safety at home. Many of them have children and many of them are not in a safe living situation at home.

This is just one of the many things that happened in the last month. I needed time to process it all, so sorry for any delays. There are more stories to come….

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Human Trafficking, SHE and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How am I to respond?

  1. Alexandria Reiley says:

    Liz,
    So saddened to hear this news of abuse. Thinking of you and the Thai women. Praying for you daily.

Leave a Reply

