I Do Nothing…

I am sitting here in total amazement. The last 3 days have been incredible and it feels like it has been over a week. Sunday, out of obedience, I went on the Sea Canoeing. I wanted to save this for my birthday trip, but something within me knew I needed to go. I went and that is when I had my Thai Breakthrough.

I come back home so excited and more confident. Then Monday rolls around, and we start our journey with passing out the first Hotel Training Flyers to the Hotels and Hair/Nail Salons. Yolondo, an American volunteer here, went to 5 hotels and 3 hair/nail salons. It was a HUGE success. There was one woman in HR who is a Christian and has wanted to start something like this, but it would be years in the future. She shared that she never turns away girls looking for employment, and is determined to find something to prevent the girls from being forced to enter into prostitution. Plus, it turns out, she lives right behind the SHE building. She will stop by soon, Pray for that relationship.

Also, another relationship was equally as good. She had great pointers and other suggestions that would help us expand and get the word out effectively. She has connections with many people, including both newspapers in town.

Then, later that night, I was behind on my lesson planning for English Classes and worked a few extra hours and I got a call from Yolondo. She asked if I had eaten, and I said no, which is rare J. So she wanted to take me out to dinner. I was ask to think of a few places, but something better was in store.

God told her to ask me if I wanted to see a show. After much hesitation, I ended up saying yes. She ended up taking me to “Phuket Fanta Sea”-which I discovered was far more than dinner and a show, it was like Disneyland of Thailand. I was a little kid in an instant, and so overwhelmed to tears. God was taking me on a date (through her).  There was an all you can eat buffet with food from all around the world (even INDIA…Ahhhhh!)

We then went to the show, which is like ‘Circue du Sole” Thai style. It was an awesome story of how the city of Kamala came to be. It was so full of culture! From kids games played in the villages, elephants on stage, ethnic costumes, and …words cannot even describe it.

Then, I went to English Classes today (Tuesday) and a student who had been there 5 times, pulled out the only flyer I had ever passed out, saying she wanted this. I did not have much of a reaction until I heard “I want out” (of prostitution).

Tonight is her last night in the bars and tomorrow she will be living with me (in my room and all). She will no longer have to sell herself to support herself and her family back home.

The best part is, I did nothing. It was all God. I am seeing all of the blessing and fruit from listening to his precious words and being obedient and acting on them. It is all Him, and it is so good.

*Note-She was unable to come out of the bars. Please continue to pray for her.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in English Classes, Human Trafficking, SHE and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Do Nothing…

  1. Ariana says:

    Liz! This last blog (I do nothing)…brought me to tears. The joy, the excitement and the movement that God is bringing is astounding and inspiring! I am so happy for you and the people in Thailand who are there to experience God through you and visa versa. What a blessing! I continue to pray for you and God’s hand in your life that you have so joyfully given over to Him to bring you to Thailand. I would say that I miss you but I know that your mission there is so much greater! God bless you and I am joyful to hear about your experiences!

  2. Auston says:

    Liz, so excited for you. Love reading about where all God is taking you and all that is changing in Thailand!

  3. Stephanie Clark-Bennett says:

    Praise GOD!! Her life (and yours) will be changed forever! What an awesome opportunity!

  4. Nina Reinke says:

    Liz, your stories are so encouraging on the redeeming Love of our Savior. Thank you so much for your heart for the woman in human trafficking. May God abundantly bless you with the “complete healing” and restoration of their lives.
    Love, Nina

  5. John Smith says:

    Love, love, love, it! I’m enjoying reading your post and looking at what God is doing in Thailand!!
    Keep it up! Col 3!

  6. Julia says:

    Celebrating with you for the Thai breakthrough and for the week that followed! Praise God for all the connections he is giving you and for the exciting things to come. 🙂

    Love ya!
    Julia

  7. hey would love to hear how it all is with your new roomie! wow love what you are doing. I get the word ABIDE…that word was for me today and maybe you too! To continue that…fruit will come. John 14 and 15 love you chica!

Leave a Reply

