Crew! Crew!

I am sitting here not knowing what to think or how to react.

2 days ago I went into the bars with a new team to help them with their first night. I would circle around and see if they were doing ok and making sure they were engaging in good conversations with Thai girls. There was one bar that I was visiting the teams and I met 2 girls. These girls had only been in the bars for 2 days and you could tell-they were so innocent (max 17 years old).

Well fast-forward to the next day.

After I was done teaching English Classes, I was waiting around for the bus. The bus finally arrives after 30 minutes of waiting, and as I step on the bus I hear ‘crew crew’ which means ‘Teacher Teacher’. There stood the same 2 girls, this time with a suitcase in each hand.

I make a point to sit next to them on the bus. I found out that they were going to Bangkok for 10 months with ‘family’. I asked if they still worked in the bars, and they said yes. Thinking nothing of it, I just begin to pray for them. Their safety, innocence, purity, etc…

Then it came time to pay the bus driver and I see that a while man sitting next to them pays for them. It was then that I discovered that they were not visiting family in Bangkok for 10 months, but that they were sold. They will most likely act as translators, tour guides and be there for his physical pleasure if he so pleases.

I was crushed.

I give them girls my number and share that they can call me anytime with anything.

Then it was my stop, and I get off and the man begins to ask me about my English Classes and before I get a chance to answer the bus drives away.

Please join me in prayer.

I was so restless last night. I was awakened to pray for them so often.

Pray for their safety/protection-that their innocence and youth will somehow remain through all of this. Pray that they know there is another option and a way out. Pray that they see these options. Pray for the man. Pray that maybe/somehow plans will change and they will be released from their duties. Pray that they will call me. Pray that they will not end up back in the bars when all of this is done.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Human Trafficking, SHE and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crew! Crew!

  1. Hi, liz-thanks for sharing! that’s certainly dirty business! we have a girl from our church who is going to be going with the World Race in august for four months, and she will be involved with the girls! a needy ministry! praying for you! Psalm 91

  2. Stephanie Clark-Bennett says:

    Praying!!

Leave a Reply

