An Answered Prayer

I am sitting here in total amazement and full of thankfulness. I have been praying for the women here on staff here at SHE. I have been praying for opportunities to connect, get to know and love these women. There is one woman, who I seemed to have a hard time connecting…until today.

She reached her breaking point. She was tired, stressed and finally let it all out. Since I was the only one here, she melted in front of me. I was able to love, encourage and simply be there for her. Then after an hour of tears, there seemed to be a switch in the conversation. The tears were whipped away, and she then began to share of her passion-CHIRST. Man-how beautiful was it to hear of someone who is so in love which Christ and to what extreme she daily goes to serve Him. I wish my heart would ache as much as hers does for Christ.

She shared of her passion, struggles in her life, relationship with a family member and her testimony. I was blessed with the opportunity to simply sit, listen and love. I then was able to share some of my story, and I too began to cry. We were able to sit and be open with each other and completely vulnerable. We talked for 4 hours, missing lunch-but that was not important. Today I gained a sister, someone I can run to when times are hard (and the same for her). Knowing that there is someone you can call in a time of need is so important, and we were able to fulfill that today.

Thank you Jesus for this moment.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in SHE and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Answered Prayer

  1. Jordan Drake says:

    That is awesome Liz!

  2. Michelle says:

    …and that is WHY you are there. love it. proud of you.

Leave a Reply

