“I don’t have breast milk.”

Things are going very well here in Thailand. I have been busy with English Classes and Hotel Training Courses. In addition to that, I have been learning more and more Thai. It seems to be coming together more and more-which feels so rewarding.

I am able to put sentences together instead of saying a word here and there, hoping they would understand me.

I am also getting to know the women better. I think my favorite time of the day is morning devotions with the women. They speak only in Thai (which I LOVE) and they are very real and open. A lot of it is due to their culture, but we have gained some trust and are becoming closer friends.

This morning’s devotion I learned a new phrase “I do not have breast milk”. At devotions, we have 2 children present (one who is 3 months old and another who is about a year old). They are very open to the point where it is common to talk about bodily functions and parts in the open. This morning we were talking about “How blessed we were (or weren’t)”. Of course, I come up in the conversation, and they asked if I would feed the baby. Though being blessed, I had nothing to give. That’s how I learned this new phrase.

Oh Thailand, I love you!


About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Language Learning, Phuket, Thai Culture, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I don’t have breast milk.”

  1. Stephanie Clark-Bennett says:

    That’s so funny!

Leave a Reply

