English Classes & Hotel Training Course Update

The past few weeks I have been busy teaching English to the girls in the bars and I have been setting up the future Hotel Course.

English Classes:

Yesterday we had 5 girls turn out! That is the biggest we have seen yet! It was really exciting! We had a very advanced student, 3 intermediate students, and one who knew nothing. Luckily we had 4 teachers that day and each taught the different levels. I taught the one who knew nothing since I knew the most Thai. It was awesome! In the process, I also learned a few new words. By the end of the hour, she was able to do some basic greetings (Hello, Good morning, How are you? Where are you from? Etc…)

In the future, I am looking to having 2 English Classes per day. I will have a Beginner course at one time and an Intermediate/Advanced course later in the same day on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Hotel Training Course:

We are preparing to offer a Free Hotel Training Course. Right now I am in the process of creating a database of the hotels in the area. For being an island, I am amazed on how many hotels there are! It will be a long process, but worthwhile in the end.

I am also creating/reviewing the course materials. We offer courses in: Waitressing, Bartending, Childcare/Babysitting, Hospitality English, Western Culture, Health/Safety and Personal Presentation/Hygiene.

In addition, we are also creating a 3 fold brochure to pass out to the hotels. We will reach out to them (soon) and offer them our services. This will serve as a prevention program. Many girls spend all they have to come to Phuket to try to find a job. They start looking at the hotels, and the hotels turn them away because they are not trained, and then are forced to find employment in the bars.

Furthermore, we are able to share the love of Christ with the women who go through the program.

Liz Update:

It has been a busy and rewarding few weeks. I was sick a week ago, but feel much better now (except that I somehow got pink eye)

I went to Malaysia last weekend to renew my visa. It was not an easy process, but finally did walk away with a 3 month visa. I stayed with a close family that I met there from my trip on the World Race.

I have also been busy studying some Thai. It can be a tricky language, but I have learned about 30 of the 70 something letters. I can read some Thai, just do not know what I am reading (yet).

Follow my journey with a picture a day at Blipfoto.com/MissLizCreates 

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in English Classes, Language Learning, Malaysia, Phuket, Thailand and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

