Ist week at SHE

It is crazy to think that one week has already passed with me here at SHE!

It has been a good week overall. I am learning more and more what my role looks like. As for now, I am being trained in all areas of SHE. I have been job shadowing Mark & Sharon and doing things that help  bless them.

I have gone into Patong to teach English a few times this week. We offer English Classes to the girls in the bar. It is through the lessons that we hope to build a good relationship and share the love of Christ with them. These English Classes meet in the afternoon every Tuesday and Thursday.

Wednesday and Friday afternoons are for the Hotel Training Course. Here, I also teach English, but the English learned is more ‘professional’ and specific to those wishing to work in the Hotels. There are also a few other aspects of the Hotel Training Course-I am still learning it J

Finally, Monday afternoons are set aside for baking. I may do them on my own, though we often want the teams here to make the cookies-it is a blessing to them most of the time.

The mornings of each day there is a devotion with the Thai girls. I truly love this time! Then I either am preparing for the lessons that day, helping out in the office, or helping the Thai ladies prepare the meals for the teams.

This week I was able to go down into the bars twice-helping the new team getting used to the ministry there. The first night went ‘well’ and the second night was harder for me. I met a girl who was just 16-she was so sweet and innocent. We had fun playing Jenga. I also was able to get to know some of the other girls at the bar. Even one who was across from me and with a customer. I would just make silly faces and hand motions, and as we were leaving she got up from her customer to give me a hug. It is amazing what a simple smile can do for someone. I think I will make it out to the bars every Friday night (so I can sleep in on Saturday!)

Well that about sums up my first week!

If you want to see a picture a day of my journey in Thailand go to Blipfoto.com/MissLizCreates

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Human Trafficking, SHE. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ist week at SHE

  1. Ariana says:

    yay Liz!
    It seems like it has been a long time that you have been gone already…so much has happened. For you and for us (but probably more for you). I love your pictures. I knew an aussie couple that honeymooned in thailand and had their feet licked clean by fish…also happy to hear about your easter and the beginning of your journeys! We love you and miss you here!

    • lizolson says:

      I have heard some updates Ariana, and I think more has happened at home than here! I have only been gone for 2 weeks! I can’t even imagine how much will happen in 2 years! Know that I am praying for the whole house and love you all dearly!

  2. Jordan Drake says:

    Proud of you Liz. It is exciting to hear that you are back in your element doing what you do best…loving others. I had the pleasure of serving with you and writing blogs once with you. Now I am on the receiving end of the blogs and I have to tell you how encouraging it is to hear all you are doing. Keep up the good work!

  3. Valerie says:

    Hi Liz,
    I like knowing your day to day activities. When God brings you to my mind, I can pray specifically for what you might be doing right then. I love looking at your pictures.
    Love, Valerie

  4. Michelle says:

    have i told you how proud of you i am? SO PROUD. love your updates and what you are doing. SO SO GOOD. and when you mentioned the cookies it made me want one. they are soooooo yummy. : ) love you, girl.

    • lizolson says:

      Thanks Meesh. I am back and it feels so good. And I look forward to making those cookies again-free to make whatever I want to bake if fun…and people seem to like them🙂

Leave a Reply

