Day 1

I had a day to myself; I have one more day before I am rejoined with my college roommate who is serving as a missionary in Bangkok. How would you spend your first day back home?

I could have gone to the night market, ventured out to the nearby fruit stand to enjoy my favorite fruit, unpacked my suitcase to find my shorts (it is HOT-I’m melting), or go out to get some food. Instead I slept, processed, worshiped and read some of the books Julia left that helped her first few months being here. I slept for 4 hours, woke at 7am, I am still tired, laid down and worshiped myself to sleep. Then woke again to read a book, the letter Julia left me and unpacked the gifts for Julia. Fell asleep again I woke to worship and praise God and just remained in Him-his promises, love and truth.

It was as if I had the perfect vacation-without me ever stepping out of my room. I am in total isolation with God and can choose do whatever I wish. I used this time to be rejuvenated and renewed. So good.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 1

  1. Michelle says:

    Sounds perfect. : )

  2. Alex Reiley says:

    Sounds like day 1 was good. Recouperating reading, praising. I really enjoy hearing about your experience…….your life so FAR away. So glad you have the blog so we can be a part of what’s happening and what life is for you. As someone else posted, to sort of live vicariously through you. Be safe.

  3. Stephanie Clark-Bennett says:

    Glad you arrived safely! Hope your time with Julia is sweet!

Leave a Reply

