I made it to THAILAND!

I have officially made it to Thailand-it was a crazy adventure to get here, but I am here.

I landed at 1:15am (Thai time) with it being 80°F, went through immigration and customs again (did this in China too-INSANE). I finally leave, with all my luggage, to try and find my taxi driver. After walking what seemed like forever, I was wondering if they were going to be there. I kept walking, and the last person standing there was a man with a sign saying YWAM Thailand, PRAISE GOD! I had a ride to where I needed to go. Our conversation was short, as I was sooooo tired (traveling for 2 solid days…) and our knowledge of each other’s language was limited. I remember looking out of the window of the taxi and feeling like I was home. I recognized so many things around me and I was at total peace. I am home.

We arrive at the YWAM base and it was locked up (it’s 2:30am at this point). But my taxi driver wouldn’t leave me alone. He knocked and knocked for 10 minutes straight until someone came to open the door. Then the only bill I had on me to pay him was too high, I was willing just to give it to him, but he told me to stay there as he went to the bank to get me my change. I am so cared for.

I finally am shown to my room and there waiting for me are a few books, a letter from Julia and my favorite snack to eat in Thailand.

Now what you need to understand was the fact that I was tempted to worry about all of this. I did not know any of the details. I knew Julia said she would arrange everything, but I did not know the details of them. There were 2 times were I needed to stop myself and just release it all and trust. God has set everything up so perfectly and has protected/provided EVERYTHING up until now, why would He stop now?!

Through this entire process, I have learned one great truth-TRUST. Though it is something easy to say, it is much much harder to live out. I have chosen to live a life of total surrender and simply trust. It is such a freeing place to be. Is it easy?-no, in the sense that we are humans and it doesn’t make any logical sense; but, yes, in the sense that God is all knowing and has total control.

I have been so honored, blessed, surprised and loved through this process of surrendering. I have seen God in even more ways in such a short period of time.

So no matter what situation you are in now, run to God and surrender it all. He knows. He knows how to love you, care for you and provide for your every need. Get to that scary place of total surrender and release it ALL to Him. In return you are filled with joy, peace and His perfect love.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I have served in Thailand for 5.5 years helping to empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I made it to THAILAND!

  1. Ariana says:

    Liz!
    I have been thinking about and praying about you so much since you’ve left! It’s been crazy sorting through all your stuff…we’ve made some fun jokes about the shrine we have set up to you (a table full of all your things) and been grieving our loss (your leaving). I am so glad to see this email and see how wonderful God is. I am not gonna lie, I love kinda vicariously living through you imagining you in each of these situations.
    I have heard many similar stories about taxi cab drivers in Thailand..the land of a thousand smiles. Just willing to go the extra several miles to help out. 🙂
    Praise God 🙂
    Love, Ariana (and all the lake st girlsies)

  2. george spaulding says:

    hi, liz-
    thanks for the up date! just sitting here reading your blog, and thinking about the fact that when Abba says “I will never leave thee nor forsake thee”(Heb. 13:5), that’s exactly what He means, even to the seemingly “little” details like taxi drivers who willingly stay to see that one is safe and taken care of! looking forward to seeing what God is going to do with you in Thailand! praying for you! thanks for sharing!

  3. Jonathan Smith says:

    Liz I’m totally excited for you! Big things will happen in Thailand! I know your gonna rock out there!

  4. Nina Reinke says:

    Hello Liz, I feel very honored and blessed that the Lord brought you into my life. Thank you for your heart and surrender to your call to help set the Thai people free. Always will be praying for you and the people in Thailand. 🙂

Leave a comment