A Thai Full Moon

The moon has been INCREDIBLE lately in Phuket. I went out for a walk to get a snack between 8 and 9pm. Normally it is pitch black, but not tonight. It was a full moon unlike any I have ever experienced. I could see the clouds and I found it very hard to spot a single star. It was almost like daylight during the night time.
The light from the moon out shone the darkness. Not a single star could steal the show. As I continued my walk, I began to sing praises to the King of Kings. I literally could not stop myself. I would walk into 7-Eleven and continue singing.
On my way home, I began to recall the properties of the moon. I remembered that the moon is the brightest object in the sky after the sun, even though its surface is really dark. The moon is made up of a reflectance material, similar to coal.
So how can the moon be the 2nd brightest object in the sky if it is dark in nature? It is made bright by reflecting the light from the sun.

I love this image, we as humans are ‘made dark’ by the sin in our lives. Yet we can be made ‘light’ through Christ and reflecting Him. The idea that the moon’s identity is grounded in reflecting the moon is an awesome concept for me. How much would our lives change if we did not have the light of the moon? There would be darkness. fear. confusion and so much more.

If this were true, our system of using the lunar calender would have to be changed and the word ‘month’ may not even exist, since the lunar calender is dependent on the moon. Time keeping would be more difficult. The Sun would be the next best reference point.

I could go on and on, but the point I wish to make is we all make an impact. The question becomes, what kind of an impact are you making? Is it good, like the moon reflecting the sun or is the opposite true?

 

ท่านทั้งหลายเป็นความสว่างของโลก นครซึ่งอยู่บนภูเขาจะปิดบังไว้ไม่ได้ ไม่มีผู้ใดจุดเทียนแล้วนำไปวางไว้ในถัง แต่ย่อมตั้งไว้บนเชิงเทียน จะได้ส่องสว่างแก่ทุกคนที่อยู่ในเรือนนั้น จงให้ความสว่างของท่านส่องไปต่อหน้าคนทั้งปวงอย่างนั้น เพื่อว่าเขาได้เห็นความดีที่ท่านทำ และจะได้สรรเสริญพระบิดาของท่านผู้ทรงอยู่ในสวรรค์  มัทธิว5:14-16

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I am currently serving in Chiang Mai, Thailand with Lighthouse in Action. We strive to help empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey, Spiritual Journey, Thailand and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Thai Full Moon

  1. jacci says:

    Awesome!

  2. Sandy Foster says:

    Hi Liz
    Great analogy! You are certainly shedding Light in a dark world!
    Thanks so much for sharing
    Sandy

  3. Alexandria Reiley says:

    Love the imagery Liz. You are talented in so many ways. :)

Leave a Reply

