I’m a baby

I’m a baby

Yep I said it. The best way I can describe my health now is through the stages a baby goes through.

Stage 1: 0 to 3 months

Babies do not do much and are fully dependant on others. When they are set down, they do not move much. They may lift their head while laying down, smile, and begin to open and close their little hands. They sleep most of the day and cry. That’s about it.

This was me in the hospital. All I could do was lay down. There would be a few moments where I would be able to smile, or wiggle a toe or two; but I do not do much besides take pills (that the nurses gave me), go to the bathroom (with help) and sleep…and maybe cry with a painful injection or FIVE in my tiny veins. I did not have the strength to do anything else.

Stage 2: 4 to 6 months

Now babies are learning to reach out and manipulate the world around them. They’re mastering the use of those amazing tools, their hands. It is not uncommon to see babies learn to roll over, laugh and even sit up with support.

After some much needed nutrients finally were in my system (yay for IV fluid!), my strength was slowing coming back to me. I would find that I would sit up (with support), change new positions in bed and I would even have some moments where I would  laugh in the hospital.

Stage 3: 7 to 9 months

This is where babies really begin to become active! After learning that they can get somewhere by rolling over, they’ll spend the next few months figuring out  how to crawl, sit without support and learn to pull up into a standing position.

I think this has been me now, out of the hospital. I am learning how to get around, but the hard part is knowing I used to know how to sprint, and here I am crawling. I am having to learn how to embrace the process and rest where I need to. Babies NEED rest and rest often (and this is what I need now). I am trying to sprint back into ministry, and I know it can be more harmful than good, but my heart does not fully understand what my head my know.

Stages 4: 10 months +

This is the stage where the baby really can engage with society, pointing for attention, able to communicate a few words and begin to walk. Then after this, the baby becomes more condfident in walking, and it turns to a jog and later a run, and after years of practice that run becomes a sprint.

I am not here yet, but deep down I want to be back here. I want to be back and able to love and serve the many women who think they are trapped in a nightmare. I want to be back and well. I want to be there to love on the women who come to my English Classes. I miss hearing their stories. I miss seeing them feel safe. I miss them….

Can you join me in prayer for me? I know I NEED to give myself grace in this entire process. I know I NEED rest. I know I need to release the ‘pressures’ that people may put on me in my healing process.

About lizolson

I love people, culture and languages! I am currently serving in Chiang Mai, Thailand with Lighthouse in Action. We strive to help empower women and children who are at risk of being trafficked or who are working in the sex industry. Everyone deserves a second chance....
This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’m a baby

  1. I’ve said another prayer for you Liz. For your speedy healing, comfort, and peace so that you may continue helping those in need and just so you feel better!!

  2. jacci says:

    Praying Liz!

  3. Sandy Foster says:

    Good Morning
    I have been thinking and praying for often throughout the day for you. You are an amazing writer, you are doing ministry right now through your thoughts. Amazing that you can articulate so wonderfully while you are at this “baby” stage in your recovery. I will pray for complete peace and comfort from our Father as you allow Him, along with the medical care, to heal your body and restore your spirit. I will pray also for your “girls” to find their strength in the Jesus you have shared with them as you heal.
    I love your heart and know that our Jesus has great plans for you.
    Rest my friend
    Still praying Phil 4: 6 & 7

    • lizolson says:

      Thank you Sandy. I am so thankful for your words of encouragement and your constant thoughts and prayers for me.

      They are helping me keep my chin up as i am learning to walk and run again.

  4. Stephanie says:

    Praying for your recovery!

  5. Alexandria Reiley says:

    Liz,
    Great analogy. I am praying that you will find the rest and replenishing that you need. I know you want to be up and sprinting already but I am confident God is still using you in this time of rest even though you may not see it…..yet. Praying for your full recovery and the continuation of your ministry serving and touching the lives of the Thai women to whom you are so devoted through Christ’s work in you. Remember to e-mail when you need anything.
    Blessings to you,
    Alex

    • lizolson says:

      Thanks again Alex. I just sent you an email. I am sick again and I have sent you some of the prayer requests.

      Thank you for your encouragement, prayers and concern for me.

Leave a Reply

